2017 Excellence in Teaching Award

Aaron Vassey, Law Enforcement Training Coordinator, is the 2017 Excellence in Teaching Award recipient. He has been teaching at Cleveland Community College since 2009.

“I want to thank Cleveland Community College, the Cleveland Community College Foundation, and the Excellence in Teaching Interview Committee, for the opportunity to interview, and subsequently be presented with, the 2017 Cleveland Community College Excellence in Teaching Award,” said Vassey. “I am but one member of a team of people, and this award is truly representative of the hard work each of us puts forth to contribute to the success of law enforcement programs, and the College.”

Vassey holds a Master’s degree in Criminal Justice from East Carolina University, two Bachelor degrees from Western Carolina University (one in Criminal Justice and the other in Emergency and Disaster Management) and an Associate’s degree from Isothermal Community College in Criminal Justice. He has also completed two certificate programs from the NC Justice Academy, and has also been awarded the Advanced Law Enforcement Certification from the NC Criminal Justice Standards Commission (CJS). Vassey is a law enforcement General Instructor and holds several law enforcement specialized instructor certifications as well, all of which are issued through the CJS.

In his spare time, Vassey enjoys camping, hiking, sporting events and spending time at the lake. Most importantly he enjoys spending time with family, and assisting at various sporting events for his children.

He is married and has three children.

Each year the CCC Foundation sponsors the Excellence in Teaching and Outstanding Staff Member awards.

The current award winners are listed below.

Excellence in Teaching Award winners:

2016 – Lori Nanney
2015 – Al Dunkleman
2014 – Dr. Starr Camper
2013 – Sherry Hamrick
2012 – Russ Hamilton
2011 – Sandol Johnson
2010 – Sheri Rogers
2009 – Claman Parker
2008 – Bruce Mack
2007 – Barbara Taylor
2006 – Michael Sisk
2005 – Dori Gantt
2004 – Kay Chitty
2003 – Ray Fisher
2002 – Becky Sain
2001 – Bruner Remy
2000 – Jana Bridges
1999 – Steve Putnam
1998 – Phil Reid
1997 – Dr. B. J. Zamora

1996 – Starr Morrow Camper
1995 – Rosaline Hunt
1994 – Jean Francis
1993 – Linda Ross
1992 – Barbara Taylor
1991 – James Fite

2017 Outstanding Staff Member

Kendra Haneline, Success Coach/Advisor, is the 2017 Outstanding Staff Member Award recipient.

“I am extremely honored to be the recipient of this award,” says Haneline. “Serving our students is a passion of mine, and I truly enjoy the work I do at the College. I am thankful to have been recognized for my efforts.”

Haneline has worked full-time at CCC since 2016. Before moving into her current position last year, she served as the Tutoring Coordinator in the Student Success Center. She has also been teaching ACA/Academic support courses since 2015. Haneline holds a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration from Gardner-Webb University.

When not working, Haneline serves as the children’s worship leader and a member of the praise team at her church. She also enjoys graphic design, creating handmade gifts, reading and writing.

She and husband Corby Haneline have three children, Chandler, Carter and Kensley.

Past Recipients

2016 – Amy Davis
2015 – Barbara Bass Romich
2014  – 
Barbara McKibbin
2013 – Athena Smith
2012 – Jimmy Hensley
2011 – Severne Budd
2010 – Emily Sisk
2009 – LeeAnn Lawson
2008 – Susan Martin
2007 – Andy Gardner
2006 – Shaunda Leonhardt
2005 – Lee Bryant
2004 – Laura Bowen
2003 – Chris Nanney

You can make a difference in our economy, our community, our college!